Monday Dec 29, 2014

10 questions for… Ryan Peacock

Last week we spoke to his brother, now it's time to ask our 10 questions to the other half of the Peacock family's teen wakeboarding duo - EXTREME rider Ryan Peacock.

Age: 17 Born in: Frimley, Surrey Lives in: Crowthorne, Berkshire Sport: Wakeboarding Years with Extreme: First year

Q. How did you get into your sport and what do you love about it?

“I first started off riding behind my grandparents boat as a kid, and we then got introduced to the cable when I was around five. I rode for about a year and then quit because I never really liked wakeboarding. After two years out of the blue my brother Liam decided to go down the cable again to try it out, and I decided to give it another go. Since the second time I could not get myself off the water!”

Q. What’s been the highlight of your career so far/best moment riding?

“My best moment was when I travelled to the Philippines in 2012 for the IWWF cable worlds. I spent two weeks out there and had the best time riding the cable. Overall I finished third in my category, which was the first time I had made the podium in an international contest.”

Q. What do you want to achieve in your sport in the future?

“Ideally I would love to see wakeboarding make the Olympics and compete for Great Britain in the Olympics, but whether that will happen or not I’m not sure.”

Q. Who inspires you the most in your sport and why?

“I think that one of my main inspirations would be someone like Felix Georgii. He has such a different style of riding to everyone else and finds some crazy lines on standard obstacles. I think that the way he rides obstacles is just like no-one else.”

Q. What is your favourite place to ride and why?

“My favourite place to ride would have to be JBSki. JB was where I started wakeboarding and I have grown up there. I love riding there because I get to ride with my best mates and we all push each other.

“The amounts each of us progress each year is unreal, just by mucking around and playing stupid games.”

Q. What music is on your playlist when you ride?

“I love listening to music which other people have used for their videos as it gets me pumped to ride. The style of music ranges from upbeat songs by MadChild, to more chilled ones from artists like Dotan.”

Q. Which Extreme Sports Channel show would you most like to star in and why?

“Although I don’t skateboard myself I would love to go to the Fantasy Factory as they seem to have the best time 24/7. I would love to just mess around all day like Rob and everyone at the factory!

Q. If you could be a pro at any other sport what would it be?

“That’s a tough one. It would either have to be skateboarding or snowboarding. To be pro at one of those would be sick.”

Q. What advice would you give to someone who wants to try your sport for the first time?

“Everything takes time to learn! You just have to be patient and soon enough you’ll get it.”

Q. If you could have any wish granted what would it be?

To live in Australia.”

  

Channels: Wakeboard

Comments