Wednesday Nov 17, 2010

O'Neill Evolution 2011 returns to Davos

After an undeniably awesome event at the the beginning of the year that most definitely set the bench mark for what has been heralded as one of the most progressive seasons to date, get ready for 2011 as from January 2nd until the 8th you can once again expect to be mesmerised as some of the best snowboarding talent in the world take to the slopes and skies of Davos, Switzerland for the O'Neill Evolution 2011.

For 2011 the event now holds a 6 star TTR rating for both the women’s Slopestyle as well as the Halfpipe. And this year also sees the 6 star rating for men extended to the 2-hit Slopestyle course for the first time.

The Halfpipe finals will take place on Friday January 7th as 10 riders hit the 6 metre high, 130 metre long and 20 metre wide pipe which sits impressively at the base of the Jakobshorn.

Saturday sees a day of Slopestyle finals that will run into a floodlit night finale as the riders take to the skies under the gasps of the crowds gathered at the foot of the course.

“We always want to bring something new and exciting to this event,” said O’Neill Global Event Director, Bernhard Ritzer. “It’s called Evolution after all,” he said. “This year we’re changing the Slopestyle radically following feedback from the riders for less but more challenging features, and a mix of day and night riding will bring variation and challenges for the riders.”

In addition to the spectacular show ahead, there are also new developments behind the scenes. A new judging system – the Snowboard Live Scoring System (SLS) – will be introduced allowing everyone to see how judges give points by scoring each trick individually in a rider’s run and adding a flow score for the overall impression of the run.

With the top ten Swatch TTR World Tour men invited and the top eight women, this is bound to be a week of non-stop action. So far confirmed for O’Neill Evolution 2011 are Seb Toots, Janne Korpi, Gian Simmen, Kjersti Buaas, Sharka Pancchova, Chanelle Sladics, Kelly Clark and Nadja Purtschert with more names to follow in the coming weeks. 

Relive all of our exclusive live coverage from the O'Neill Evolution 2010 right here and get excited about 2011!

Channels: Snowboard