Monday Jun 24, 2013

Night of the Jumps 2013 - Results

Basel, 21 & 22nd June 2013: After the freak weather in Europe on Thursday, another storm blew into Basel the following day with the arrival of the world’s Top Ten freestyle motocross riders in the Sankt Jakobshalle, all of them intent on scoring points towards the FIM Freestyle MX World Championship. This is the seventh occasion on which NIGHT of the JUMPs has been staged in the Basel arena, and with the championship campaign having reached an absolutely critical stage, the tension was running exceptionally high and the audience were left baying for more! The ten freestyle motocross stars pulled out all the stops to maximise their championship points haul before the mid-season lay-off. 

Friday 21st June 2013:

Spanish FMX tornado blows away opposition in NIGHT of the JUMPs at Basel 

As early as the qualifying round, a whirlwind of tricks was unleashed. David Rinaldo, Dany Torres and Libor Podmol were cracking one backflip flash after another and almost threatening to bring the roof crashing down. Clinton Moore was also firing on all cylinders with his proprietary Volt, his Nac 360 and his version of the Tsunami Flip. Maikel Melero managed to book the sixth and last slot for the final round. 

The storm clouds were brewing again as the finale got under way. Brice Izzo celebrated a spectacular comeback in Basel with a new triple combo, a Tsunami Flip, an Underflip and various takeoff and landing tricks. Ultimately, though, the Frenchman was outgunned by Dany Torres who fired off a salvo of Paris Hilton, Oxecutioner and Lazy Backflip.

Results: NIGHT of the JUMPs – Final

1. Dany Torres ESP RFME KTM 387 points

2. Clinton Moore AUS MA Yamaha 372 points

3. Brice Izzo FRA FFM Yamaha 372 points

4. Libor Podmol CZE ACCR Yamaha 369 points

5. David Rinaldo FRA FFM Yamaha 362 points

6. Maikel Melero ESP RFME KTM 347 points

Saturday 22nd June:

Izzo and Rinaldo in joint dominion of the air: French one-two at NOTJ in Basel

The grand finale was then the ultimate showdown. Miralles was the only one who seemed to have run out of steam, which became apparent when he messed up one of his tricks. Maikel Melero, however, fought like a tiger, pulling out a Double Seatgrab Flip as the closing jump of his run. But with everyone on such great form, even this was not enough for a podium finish. For Libor Podmol, it was all about hanging onto his lead in the championship standings. He hoped that his LP Special Roll, his Tsunami Flip, his signature Underflip and Seatgrab Flip would do the trick, but his chance of a podium diminished as David Rinaldo displaced him from the hot seat. The diminutive Frenchman executed a Double Seatgrab Flip and various of his triple combos. He in turn was then forced to vacate the throne by the next Frenchman in line, as Brice Izzo put in what may well be the best run of his career to date, with perfect extension on his Tsunami, Underflip, Seatgrab Flip and Deadbody. He also undertook the maximum level of difficulty with new tricks such as the Cordova to Superflip and the Saranwrap to One-hand Seatgrab. The only contestant now blocking his path to victory was Dany Torres. The Spaniard included all his backflip combos, but for some reason left out the Rock Solid Backflip which he had been seen performing in free practice. This omission left the way clear for Brice Izzo to claim the winner’s trophy. With Rinaldo finishing as runner-up, the result was a French one-two.

Results: NIGHT of the JUMPs – Final

1. Brice Izzo FRA FFM Yamaha 390 points

2. David Rinaldo FRA FFM Yamaha 390 points

3. Dany Torres ESP RFME KTM 386 points

4. Libor Podmol CZE ACCR Yamaha 371 points

5. Maikel Melero ESP RFME KTM 365 points

6. Jose Miralles ESP RFME KTM 310 points

Channels: IFMX Night of the Jumps 2013, FMX, MX